Our department consists of four groups; CORE, Cooperative, Concurrent and Extension Research Groups. They extend over two main campuses, and other research institutions (please refer to a map on “Location”). Research is also conducted in the Spring-8, building which is the world's largest synchrotron radiation facility. We have created an intimate network, which provides the capacity to develop and advance our scientific knowledge in various research areas.